January 27

At the age of twelve, I was almost one hundred percent sure that I was going to be a famous author. I wrote stories almost every single day. I personally thought that I was the best I wanted to write stories like J.K. Rowling and Roald Dahl. I thought that I was  completely set, until i realized that my stories were god awful. The stories that i would write were just really bad rehashes of already famous stories and I didn’t realize this until when I hit sixth grade or so and I got a D on a creative writing assignment. “Not an Original Idea” was scrawled across the top in red pen.  As one can imagine, that completely discouraged me, however slowly but surely i have been getting back into writing. though some of it is forced through  school I have gotten to the point of generally wanting to write again. One of the points that the article made was that writers need to write and revise constantly, something that I didn’t do. Once i finished things i was done no one could tell me to edit it, they didn’t know it was mine and it was perfect. A professor that i had for theatre in my first year of college that when you’re writing something that you have to “Back your character up into a tree, and then throw rocks at them.”  keep giving them challenges and once they get away from those challenged throw more at them. When writing that I keep that in the back of my mind knowing that in order to keep people interested i need to keep giving challenges. Needless to say this has helped me enjoy writing again, and I am happy that I am excited about it again.


Posted January 27, 2016 by allenkmessier in category Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*